While it’s unlikely that another child tax credit will be passed into law anytime soon (it wasn’t included in the)), different states have their own plans. About 16 states are planning to send more money to families in an effort to reduce the impact of and a . Parents have received their last payment in December, and a final check with their taxes this year.
While there is no plan to reintroduce child tax credit payments at the federal level, there is a proposal from the Republican Senate thatand includes a working condition. For now, it’s up to states to decide whether to provide money to families in need. Of the 16 states that are planning to introduce state credit for children or offer deductions for households with children, only one of those states is pending governor approval.
Check below to see if your state offers (or plans to offer) child tax relief, as well as the eligibility requirements for your state. Find out more if your state isor .
Which States Will Send Tax Credit Checks For Children And Consider Tax Deductions?
These are the current states that plan to send child tax credit checks to families. Please note that not all are fully refundable meaning you may need some income to get the full amount to you.
California: Families earning less than $25,000 are eligible for $1,000, either as a reduced tax bill or refund. Those who earn between $25,000 and $30,000 will receive reduced credit. The credit is only available to children under age 6 and the family must qualify for the California Earned Income Tax Credit.
Colorado: As of January 2023, families with incomes of $75,000 or less ($85,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly) can receive 5% to 30% of the federal credit for each eligible child. This credit is only available for children under 6 years old.
Connecticut: Eligible families can now claim a one-time tax credit to receive $250 for each child under the age of 18. The discount is limited to $750 for three children. Here’s Who Qualifies (PDF): Joint filing couples who earned $200,000 or less in 2021, individual applicants who earned $100,000 or less, and heads of households who earned $160,000 or less.
Florida: Nearly 59,000 Florida families will receive $450 per child, but it’s unclear at this time who qualifies. Foster families can also receive this emergency money.
Georgia: In response to the decision to ban abortion access in the state, Georgia will now allow taxpayers to claim their unborn fetuses as dependents on their tax returns. Taxpayers can get up to $3,000 for the 2022 tax year if they have an unborn child with a detectable heartbeat between July 20 and December 31.
Idaho: Families may qualify for $205 for each eligible child with Idaho’s Non-Refundable Child Tax Credit.
Maine: Resident taxpayers are eligible to claim $300 for each eligible child and subject to the dependent tax credit exemption. Eligible children and dependents are the same as those claimed under the federal child tax credit.
Maryland: Those making $6,000 or less can get a $500 refundable tax credit for each eligible child, under a bill pending approval by Governor Larry Hogan.
Massachusetts: Families are eligible for $180 for one dependent or $360 for multiple dependents. To be eligible, dependents must be under the age of 12.
New Jersey: The recently passed New Jersey Child Tax Credit Program gives families with incomes of $30,000 or less a $500 refundable tax credit for each child under age 6. Households earning up to $80,000 can qualify for $300.
New Mexico: Families may qualify for $25 to $175 per eligible child, depending on income, beginning in tax year 2023 and continuing through tax year 2031.
New York: Eligible families can claim either 33% of the federal child tax credit and federal additional child tax credit for eligible children or $100 for each eligible child.
North Carolina: Taxpayers can receive a deduction of up to $2,500 for each eligible child, depending on income and filing status.
Oklahoma: Households with incomes less than $100,000 are eligible for 5% of the federal child tax credit.
Rhode Island: Families can receive child tax credit discounts for up to $250 per child under the age of 18, with a maximum of three children. Eligibility limits on $100,000 income for a single filer household, or $200,000 for joint filers. These checks will be automatically issued to those who qualify from October.
Vermont: Households with incomes less than $125,000 are eligible for $1,000 per child 5 years and under.
For more, here’sand .