Common Prosperity and State of US-China Relations – Community News
Us China

Common Prosperity and State of US-China Relations

After a steady deterioration in China-US relations over four years under President Donald Trump, global attention has turned to President Joe Biden and the direction he will take the relationship. The new administration has been much more aggressive than many experts predicted, enforcing the hard-line policies of the Trump era. Although the rhetoric has changed, there is still explicit criticism of Beijing on everything from Hong Kong to its treatment of the Uyghur community in Xinjiang. While Biden focuses on strengthening US influence in the Indo-Pacific, the deadlock persists with competition standing in the way of even clear areas of alignment. This panel will discuss the economic and geopolitical outlook for China, as well as the risks the country will face in 2022.

speakers:
Dave Rank, former Chargé d’affaires, US Embassy in Beijing
George Magnus, Associate, University of Oxford China Center
Helen Qiao, Managing Director and Chief Economist for Greater China and Head of Asia Economics Research, Bank of America Merrill Lync

times:
08:00 – 09:00 (New York)
12:00 – 13:00 (London)
20:00 – 21:00 (Singapore)

About the author

Rakesh

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment