DeSantis, Ladapo updates the COVID-19 guide for Florida
DeSantis, Ladapo updates the COVID-19 guide for Florida

DeSantis, Ladapo updates the COVID-19 guide for Florida

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis and Surgeon General Joseph Ladapo announced new guidance to Florida on COVID-19, including deterrent masks in businesses and reducing isolation times for people tested positive for COVID-19.

What you need to know

  • COVID-19 Guide Updated for the State of Florida
  • The recommendations announced on Thursday differ somewhat from the CDC’s
  • Governor Ron DeSantis and Surgeon General Joseph Ladapo made the announcement
  • The guide deals with mask use, isolation periods and “off-label prescriptions”

According to the guide released Thursday, companies are advised to no longer require employees to wear a mask while at work. The Florida Department of Health’s recommendations indicated that the rationale behind the recommendation is “there is no strong evidence that masks reduce the transmission of respiratory diseases.”

The guide also indicates that “there is no proven significant clinical benefit to facial clothing among the general population” and states that children in day care should not be forced to wear a mask.

In contrast, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends individuals wear a mask indoors in public if you are in a area with significant or high transmission to try to maximize prevention and possibly prevent the spread of COVID-19 to others. Overall, the state of Florida is considered a high-transmission area due to its COVID positivity rate.

The guide specifically states that it does not exclude well-trained persons, such as nurses and doctors, from using personal protective equipment when required by an employer.

FDOH also calls for reducing isolation times for individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19 or have been exposed to a person infected with COVID. Under the new guidance, all people who test positive, whether symptomatic or asymptomatic, must stay home and away from others for five days. The day count starts from the day the symptoms started for the symptomatic. This rule also applies to students in schools and children in day care.

People who are exposed to people who test positive should stay home if they develop COVID symptoms but do not have to stay home if they have no symptoms but continue to monitor themselves for symptoms for 10 days. Exposure is defined as being within 6 feet of a person holding COVID for 15 minutes within 24 hours.

The main difference in the isolation policy of the CDC’s is that the federal agency recommends wearing a mask around others for 10 days after being tested positive or being exposed to someone who did, and to avoid being around others, who are at high risk for 10 days.

The second guide issued on Thursday deals with treatments for COVID-19. The FDOH recommendations indicate that “GPs will have the flexibility to make the decision to treat patients with off-label prescriptions if they determine that it can help the patient and this is something the patient would like to try and give informed consent to. to try. “

The guide does not specify the types of treatments it refers to, but it does FDOH published a bulletin which specifically refers to some monoclonal antibody treatments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.