Social Security Expands Compassionate Benefits Program for People with Severe Disabilities – Community News
Social Security

Social Security Expands Compassionate Benefits Program for People with Severe Disabilities

August 21, 2021 – Acting Social Security Commissioner Kilolo Kijakazi announced 12 new compassionate compensation terms: Charlevoix Saguenay spastic ataxia (ARSACS), choroid plexus carcinoma,

social security logo
CIC rearranged sarcoma, congenital Zika syndrome, desmoplastic mesothelioma, Duchenne muscular dystrophy – adult, pericardial mesothelioma, refractory Hodgkin lymphoma, Renpenning syndrome, SCN8A-related epilepsy with encephalopathy, SYNGAP1-related NSID, and Tayypkin-related NSID. Compassionate Allowances is an initiative that quickly identifies serious medical conditions and illnesses that meet Social Security standards for disability benefits.

“Everyone eligible for benefits under the programs we administer should receive them,” said Acting Commissioner Kijakazi. “Our Compassionate Allowances program helps us address barriers by speeding up the disability application process for people who are likely to be approved for benefits due to the severity of their medical condition.”

The Compassionate Allowances program quickly identifies claims where the applicant’s condition or illness clearly meets the legal standard for Social Security disability. Due to the serious nature of many of these conditions, these claims are often allowed only on the basis of a medical confirmation of the diagnosis; for example, certain cancers, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and some rare conditions that affect children. To date, more than 700,000 people with severe disabilities have been approved through this accelerated policy-compliant disability process, which has grown to a total of 254 conditions.

When a person applies for disability benefits, Social Security must obtain medical records in order to make an accurate determination. The agency uses industry-leading technology to identify potential cases of Compassionate Allowances and make quick decisions. Social Security’s Health IT brings the speed and efficiency of electronic health records to the disability assessment process. With electronic data transfer, Social Security is able to quickly obtain a claimant’s medical information, review it and make a quick decision.

For more information about the program, including a list of all the requirements for Compassionate Allowances, visit

For more information about Social Security’s Health IT program, visit

People can apply for disability benefits online by going to

to make one mine Social Security account, visit
Source: Social Security